jump to navigation

My Shoe Snafu – Shar September 30, 2009

Posted by ClosetCat in Shar.
trackback

Yes, Cathy and fellow Closetcat friends, fall IS here!  However, fall here in DC feels more like the beginnings of winter in California.  Here I am, armed with my hoodie and my scarf, hugging myself as I hobble down the street because my feet are cold (which, admittedly is my fault, being unwilling to kick my flip-flop-wearing habit until I absolutely have to).  And all around me, these chilly-weather natives are strolling about in their shorts and t-shirts.  HOW do they do that?

Call me spoiled, but tropical Philippine weather and temperate SoCal climates have always been lenient with my island girl skin.  And this is why I’m a little apprehensive about my first real winter here in the East Coast.  I even had to awkwardly ask someone, “So… umm… what kind of shoes do you wear when it snows?”  Hahaha… Hey, to me, that’s a pretty legit question!

Which brings me to my shoe boo boo… not so much a mistake as it is a lapse in judgment, because I’m a sucker for pretty footwear.

Now, with grad school life kicking my booty for the last week or so, I’m constantly finding myself with little time and little money.  So, tell me why I spent an hour and a half in Payless and walked out with $50 less in my struggling bank account.  Wait, before you tsk tsk me… $50 is not so bad considering I got 2 pairs of shoes.

I originally came in to just buy shoes to wear on interviews, and even had a specific pair in mind, so all I had to do was walk in, find my size, pay, and walk out.  But noooo… I must’ve tried on and fell in love with 5 different pairs.  So, really, I should get a high five for walking out with just 2.  I will admit, however, that I sighed with regret each time I talked myself into putting a shoe back on the shelf.

Here’s what I ended up getting:

To add a little color to my usual retinue of black and brown.  And to go better with my white and tan office pieces

To add a little softness to my usual retinue of black and brown. And to go better with my white and tan office pieces

Thicker heel = more comfy for day-to-day use

Thicker heel = more comfy for day-to-day use

And what I put back:

It was only $15! ...but then I realized I probably won't be clubbing anytime soon :(

It was only $15! ...but then I realized I probably won't be clubbing anytime soon 😦

This one broke my heart to put back... such a pretty blue...

This one broke my heart to put back... such a pretty blue...

At the end of the day, I looked back with that accomplished/guilty feeling you get after an impromptu shopping trip.  But I reasoned with myself that it’s okay, because they’re not technically just fluff shoes that I don’t really need.

…Until someone pointed out that teensy lapse of judgment to me:  “Please tell me one of the pairs you got are snow boots.”

Aw, damn, that’s right…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

