jump to navigation

Calling All Entrepreneurs – Cathy October 27, 2009

Posted by ClosetCat in Cathy.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Hey y’all.

So everyone knows we’ve been working really hard to get http://www.ClosetCat.com up for y’all on 11/11. For me, it’s been a long time coming. I’ve always known I was going to start a business, it was just a matter of what. I was waiting for the idea that Rainier Maria Rilke alluded to in his Letters To A Young Poet

“There is only one thing you should do. Go into yourself. Find out the reason that commands you to write; see whether it has spread its roots into the very depths of your heart; confess to yourself whether you would have to die if you were forbidden to write. This most of all: ask yourself in the most silent hour of your night: must I write?”

I wake up thinking about progress on our logo, I daydream about what the website should look like, I go to sleep thinking about what I can do for ClosetCat the next day. It’s in the very depths of my heart. So with passion and my 5 year plan I’m ready to roll.

It’s not always easy to follow your dreams. But in helping you start a little easier I’ve included my resources for starting ClosetCat. If you need anything more specific go ahead and email me at Cathy@ClosetCat.com

My Start Up Resources:

  • Resale Permit in CA: I needed it because as a business selling in CA I have to collect sales tax. This also lets me buy wholesale in the future. This is generally free, but they do require some to put down a deposit.
  • Business License: You’ll need to check with you city for this one. In my city I had to purchase a business license as well as a home occupation license. The fee can be a few hundred for the year.
  • Fictitious Business Name: Filing depends on your state. For me I had to go through my county recorder-clerks office. If you are a sole proprietor, this allows you to use another name for business instead of your given one. I wanted this so that ClosetCat was listed instead of my personal name for business transactions. And within a month of filing, you will need to run a classified ad with a local weekly newspaper stating your FBN. This ad cost is usually around $50.
  • Business Mentor: SCORE provides you with other business owners willing to help you with any questions you may have. Their backgrounds run the gamut and you’ll surely find someone that can offer some insider information in your field. And the turnaround is within 48 hours!
  • SBA Local Resources: This will help you find some local people to meet with and guide you on your way. It can really help meeting with someone who is an expert in a subject you’re not well versed in.
  • Business Template Gallery: This really helped in giving me the structure for worksheets every business needs: Breakeven Analysis, a Business Plan, Cash Flow Statement, etc. They have notes on how to fill in each area.
  • Online Store – BigCartel: This is where I built my store. I wanted to bootstrap and start small. The most expensive plan is $20/month and it’s super easy to start. Note, it only sets you up for PayPal payments and limits you to 100 products. You can have multiples of one product.
  • Add URL to Google: If you have any online presence you need to put it up on Google. It’s free and quick. Make sure to do it on other search engines as well.
  • Personalized Emails – Gmail: This lets your group communicate with one another by posting spreadsheets everyone can access and edit. It also lets you be more professional and customize your email to be: Name@MyBusinessName.com
  • Free Business Cards: Just do it! Start and get your information out there. They’re free so you can buy more customized ones later without fretting about all the money you just spent on your first set. I think it’s just a shipping cost.

What I found most helpful was just emailing other businesses I admire and asking them questions. I kept thinking- they did it, so can I.

On a final note: create an advisory board for yourself (the mentors from above and friends & family with business experience), be professional (no matter how small you start, you’re still a business), and have fun. =)

To love, life, and the clothes we shed along the way.

Comments»

1. daisychain - October 28, 2009

The very best of luck for your venture

2. todayscyrano - November 19, 2009

OK, I just wanted establish the proper link for my rss feeder, as my comment went so wayward last time as to wind up on the game you featured. Once again, the quote from Letters to a Young Poet and the correlation to your mental outlook for the business is fantastic. You certainly show the mentality of a young entrepreneur, focused on success. Don’t let the speed bumps along the way stop you from making progress toward you goals!
Once removed from the situation by distance or time, you will see the speed bump was no more than a pebble in the path…..

3. todayscyrano - November 19, 2009

OK, I just wanted establish the proper link for my rss feeder, as my comment went so wayward last time as to wind up on the game you featured. Once again, the quote from Letters to a Young Poet and the correlation to your mental outlook for the business is fantastic. You certainly show the qualities of a young entrepreneur, focused on success. My advice to you:
Don’t let the speed bumps along the way stop you from making progress toward you goals!
Once removed from the situation by distance or time, you will see that most speed bumps are no more than a pebble in the path…..


Leave a Reply

