jump to navigation

Inner Nerdiness – Shar December 17, 2009

Posted by ClosetCat in Shar.
trackback

I have been MIA as well, I know, but I’ve been poring over books and research, then flew home to recuperate from it all. Man, this grad school business is tough…

But.  I’m in grad school because I’m a nerd.  I am.  There’s no point in denying it, really.

I’ve been reading voraciously since I was 5; I retain random bits of scientific facts; history intrigues me like no other; and math… okay, maybe I’m not the most well-rounded nerd…

Anyway, I like school.  It drives me haggard with the amount of work sometimes and I constantly make disgruntled declarations of my being fed up.  But honestly, I love the challenge and I love the learning.

And I LOVE writing.

There’s just something about a fresh, crisp, clean sheet of paper that both excites me with its promise and challenges me not to waste it.  (I suppose the same thing could be said about that blank, white Document1 on MS Word, but I feel like that blinking cursor is pressuring me to start typing whatever.)  So for creative, non-strictly-academic purposes, I like journals and notebooks – whatever their shape or size.  I do, however, had a bad habit of collecting notebooks because they’re pretty, but never quite filling them out before getting a new one.  Again, it might have something to do with that fresh promise of a new start.

Now, one of my non-nerdy loves in this world is shoes.  If I wasn’t acutely conscious of my status as a stereotypically broke college student, I’d have nothing to keep this budding shoe fetish in check.  It helped having two sisters because we’ve pretty much tripled our shoe choices at home by virtue of having the same shoe size.  Then, when I moved out, I constantly bemoaned the fact that my roommate had absolutely gorgeous shoes – but not the same size.  Dammit, Cathy… 😛

Anyway, here’s the connection.  How to merge the love of notebooks and the love of shoes.  I guess one way would be to write about it, which is essentially what I’m doing right now.

Or!

Check this out!  (Courtesy of my friend Eileen’s closet and her ridiculous collection of shoes)

Composition notebook shoes! For the nerdy but stylish schoolgirl

Some shoe  designer out there is a genius.

Comments»

1. Gus - December 25, 2009

It’s ok, I’m a nerd too, and in my opinion, voraciously reading is a good thing. I miss you guys!


Leave a Reply

