jump to navigation

Read Me – Shar February 27, 2010

Posted by ClosetCat in Shar.
trackback

I will preface this post by saying that this has nothing to do with fashion.  Unless you consider space suits as part of current fashion.

But anyway, I thought I’d share this with our avid ClosetCat readers, especially for those of you who may be interested in what goes on in our lives outside of our fashion scoping.

Check out the latest featured writer of the Smithsonian’s National Air and Space blog: http://blog.nasm.si.edu/  (If you’re reading this a few weeks later, the entry entitled Diversity in Air and Space.)

That’s me!  YAYYY!!!!!  Ugh, I’m so excited!  I’m particularly proud of having this piece published because if you scroll through the other entries, they’re very much science-infused (still very interesting, I might add).  Anyway, I thought it might be a good idea to showcase some of the more visitor-centered inclinations of the museum.  I hope you enjoy reading it!  Let me know what you think…  I’d love to post pictures, but they may be copyrighted.  boo.

Okay, well to somehow tie this in with fashion… did you know that under the astronaut’s space suit, they wear a mesh body suit that has narrow tubes of water woven throughout the fabric?  It keeps their body temperature down.  AND, they also wear what they call a “Maximum Absorbency Garment.”  Care to guess what that really is?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

