jump to navigation

No Shopping for 46 Days – Cathy April 1, 2010

Posted by ClosetCat in Cathy.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I gave up shopping for Lent.

Ok, disclaimer… I did purchase food as well as gardening goods. I know you’re thinking food is ok, but gardening goods?! My boyfriend gave me the same raised-eyebrows look you probably are. But, I gave myself this exception with the idea that we’re fortunate enough to live in a climate that allows early planting, so I should take advantage of it. And it’s only brought positivity in awareness of how we eat, what we eat, and more physical activity into my life. I recently canceled my gym membership and gardening has had me working my butt off daily with watering, weeding, planning, and planting.

Forty-six sweaty days later (really), this Sunday ushers in the end of Lent. Initially, I thought I’d celebrate by speeding to the closest mall to reward myself with a Spring white mini-dress. But as Sunday approaches, I realize that my desires have changed. The days of planting in the sun have brought me outdoors to cherish  watering  my plants and walking my cat. I’ve been inspired by color combinations in my garden (pale silver, purple, and white from my lavender if you’re wondering). All the time outdoors has also influenced my first purchase to probably be a pair of orange crocs – cue gasps. =) Most importantly, it’s given me more still-time to reflect on ClosetCat and pursue how we want to grow.

Our ClosetCat blog and our online shop have been such a positive aspect of our lives. It’s thrilling to share our posts with y’all, read other blogs, and create an interactive online shop filled with our clothes and stories.

Whether this Sunday brings to you a chocolate rabbit, an overindulgence of an old habit, or a lazy day, I hope some of it is spent outdoors and soaking in your surroundings.

love love love, Cathy.

Comments»

1. PumbaToYourTimon - April 1, 2010

1 a : to examine goods or services with intent to buy b : to hunt through a market in search of the best buy

The groceries I can understand, but just because you don’t wear them doesn’t mean it isn’t shopping. But! I’m sure the power(s?) that be will let it slide.

Great update, and we all look forward to pics of those orange crocs.


Leave a Reply

